Testing just gives him another reason to call himself a failure.

Dear Bill and Melinda Gates,

For 19 years, I have taught middle school students. About ten years ago, I created a program at our school to address our neediest students: those at risk of dropping out of school even though they have no disabilities or other physical challenges that prevent their success at school. This program targets family support services, community involvement (mentoring) as well as each student’s individual circumstance that make success in a public school setting difficult. We saw success.

Recently, though, students with unique learning challenges (most people know them as at-risk students) have yet another hurdle to climb: testing. Here is an example of how a student with chaos at home handles standardized tests:

My student, “K”, entered my room on one of our test days and told me he was going to throw up. I knew he was not sick. He always says this when he is stressed or would like to avoid the classroom. I spoke to him briefly and told him he would be great today. I didn’t lie. This kid is smart. He reads above grade level and could probably out-test anyone. His previous test scores varied widely: sometimes proficient, sometimes advanced, sometimes below basic. We had practiced all year on how to handle stress. I told him, “You got this! No worries, young Jedi! The force is strong within you!” (K likes Star Wars.) With that sweet grin, he sat and worked too slowly through the timed session. He did not get done. Again, I tell him, “No worries! It’s ok! I can tell you tried really hard and I am proud of you.”

The next timed session began. Math. He can do math. What he can’t do well is handle pressure. I see him breathe deeply the way we practiced to calm himself. I can’t go to him. This is the test and I can only read one word per sentence if needed. He knows it. Another deep breath and he closes his eyes, and clenches his fists. He knocks his eraser to the floor on accident. He begins to maniacally lift his test book up and down searching for it, disturbing the entire classroom. I can’t see where the eraser bounced to and he is in full freak out mode. I go to him and kneel by his desk and it is immediately clear to me that there is no way he can get himself off this ledge. I text our school counselor and he is out of the room. I watch him slump his shoulders and quietly leave.

Later I am interviewed about the incident. State officials are called to see if there is a proper way to handle the situation since all students in my room were distracted by the outburst. You know what I was thinking? He didn’t throw anything!! He didn’t cuss at anyone! He didn’t punch anything or anyone! Seven months ago, he would have done at least one of those things. This teacher knows that K made progress this year and I think he scored advanced. If you were to tie his numerical scores to my evaluation, I would probably look like a horrible teacher. I know differently.

You have billions of dollars you are throwing at ineffective strategies for our children. Spend it on creating the type of wrap around services that benefit kids like K. Testing just gives him another reason to call himself a failure. This is just one kid and I bet there are millions more just like him. So, save him.

Respectfully,

Brenda

About Highlighting Members' Needs

We are running for the following Renton Education Association positions because we believe in the following planks: Becca Ritchie, Candidate for REA President, Nelsen Middle School, Computer Tech Susan DuFresne, Candidate for Primary Executive Board, Maplewood Heights Elementary, Integrated Kindergarten ✅  Demanding a healthy work-load/life balance. ✅  Bargaining competitive professional compensation. ✅  Challenging the status quo test culture with: Less is more! ✅  Emphasizing our professional expertise. ✅  Prioritizing equity and access for all. ✅  Utilizing 2-way 21st century communication tools. ✅  Acting in solidarity with all unions. ✅  Supporting ALL members. ✅   Implementing developmentally appropriate K-3 curriculum/assessment.
This entry was posted in End High Stakes Testing, Failing Students, High Stakes Testing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Testing just gives him another reason to call himself a failure.

  1. timmcfarland says:

    Brenda,
    This is beautiful. I love your perspective on this kid, especially during your state interview.

    This year, my new principal wanted “all students on IEPs testing in the LRC (Learning Resource Center),” which meant no teaching for about three weeks for grades 3 – 5. We tested kids while others needed additional academic help and some came in to throw tantrums. “Welcome to my reality,” I said to her one day, as she came in to visit. Our overcrowded classrooms are producing anxiety all by themselves; our testing mania just adds to this.

    • Teachers'LettersToBillGates says:

      I love how this blog site is becoming a small discussion group between teachers who commiserate with one another after being silenced and isolated for so long! Thank you for your letters and your comments here! People from all over the world are reading this and seeing firsthand that the demoralization of teachers is undeserved!

      Thank you!

      Teachers’ Letters to Bill Gates

  2. Pingback: If You Can Define “Oligarchy”, Thank a Teacher! #EducatingGates Rally – Seattle – June 26th! | Educating The Gates Foundation

Leave a Reply

