Dear Bill: Money Can’t Buy You Love — the Most Important Ingredient to a Good Education

Dear Bill and Melinda,

I can think of many teachers who left an impact on my life. Teaching is personal. It’s the interaction between two human beings which makes the difference between regurgitating information and loving to learn. The object of the exercise is to create life long learners. No computer or software program can take the place of the love a nurturing teacher gives.

Thank you to my 1st grade teacher who taught me honesty. She put a great big F on my math paper and I never copied anyone’s work again.  Thank you to kind Mrs. Lyle; 3rd grade-for making the new kids feel at home, Mrs. Evans; 4th grade-taught me respect, Mrs. Eshman; 6th grade- taught me to love reading, Sheila Rich; 10th grade- taught me Spanish which opened my eyes to the world, Joe Domko; 9th grade- taught me to explore the world and really see what was in it, Leland Andres; my last 2 years of high school-helped hone my voice for voice for college, Mrs. Johnson; taught me to sew, Mr. Sanders; kept me employed because he taught me to type. Mr. Sanders died at Columbine.

These were the PEOPLE, human beings, who nurtured me and showed me different points of view. I love them and remember them.

Bill Gates, keep your millions because money can’t buy love and teachers are full of love. Love is most important ingredient to a good education; the difference between what you think teaching is and what teaching really is.

Nina Seifert Bishop

About Highlighting Members' Needs

We are running for the following Renton Education Association positions because we believe in the following planks: Becca Ritchie, Candidate for REA President, Nelsen Middle School, Computer Tech Susan DuFresne, Candidate for Primary Executive Board, Maplewood Heights Elementary, Integrated Kindergarten ✅  Demanding a healthy work-load/life balance. ✅  Bargaining competitive professional compensation. ✅  Challenging the status quo test culture with: Less is more! ✅  Emphasizing our professional expertise. ✅  Prioritizing equity and access for all. ✅  Utilizing 2-way 21st century communication tools. ✅  Acting in solidarity with all unions. ✅  Supporting ALL members. ✅   Implementing developmentally appropriate K-3 curriculum/assessment.
This entry was posted in Education, Teacher - Student Relationships, Trust, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Bill: Money Can’t Buy You Love — the Most Important Ingredient to a Good Education

  1. Tracy Eddins says:

    Where were Bill and Melinda when I stayed after school to phone DCS after comforting a little boy who shared that daddy had beaten mommy the night before? Where were Bill and Melinda when I was on the phone with DCS after a child arrived at school wearing the same dirty clothes from the previous day stating that he fell asleep in his clothes and shoes after having nothing for dinner and now his feet hurt? Where were Bill and Melinda when I was rushing to Walmart to purchase shoes for a little boy whose shoes were 2 sizes too small or to purchase a coat for a little girl that is cold and does not have a coat? Where were Bill and Melinda when I reached into my already stretched income to buy food for a child? Where were Bill and Melinda when I contacted everyone I know in search of bunk beds after a child informed me that he and his 2 brothers all sleep on the floor because they do not have beds? Where were Bill and Melinda when I was taking in children as respite care while DCS searched for a more permanent foster care placement? Where were Bill and Melinda when I did without something so that I could buy things to enrich the curriculum in my classroom? There is a lot more that I could say. Unfortunately, Bill and Melinda are far too busy to listen. There is a great deal more to teaching than filling in bubbles.

Leave a Reply

