#againstcommoncore: a Twitter-inspired poem ~ Katie Lapham

againstcommoncore

Dear Mr. Gates,

I’ve never been much of a poet but a recent Twitter campaign inspired this. See what happens when teachers collaborate and think outside the box? We are our own think tank, free of charge!

#againstcommoncore

I’m a mom and a teacher, and I’m #againstcommoncore.

I am a social justice ESL teacher and lover of great literature, and I am #againstcommoncore.

I am a history buff (MA in Latin Amer studies), former NYC Teaching Fellow (Cohort 12) & Spanish-speaker, and I’m #againstcommoncore.

I am a critical thinker and deep digger, and I’m #againstcommoncore.

I want my daughter to be inspired and motivated at school, not test-prepped to death. I am #againstcommoncore.

I have a brain and I create my own lessons. I am #againstcommoncore.

I am #againstcommoncore b/c I want 2 teach for another 20 years. In this current climate, I won’t last that long. Guess that’s their plan.

I don’t want to be bullied into using only DOE-approved curriculum & I can’t keep all the acronyms straight. #againstcommoncore.

-Katie Lapham

Critical Classrooms, Critical Kids

About Highlighting Members' Needs

We are running for the following Renton Education Association positions because we believe in the following planks: Becca Ritchie, Candidate for REA President, Nelsen Middle School, Computer Tech Susan DuFresne, Candidate for Primary Executive Board, Maplewood Heights Elementary, Integrated Kindergarten ✅  Demanding a healthy work-load/life balance. ✅  Bargaining competitive professional compensation. ✅  Challenging the status quo test culture with: Less is more! ✅  Emphasizing our professional expertise. ✅  Prioritizing equity and access for all. ✅  Utilizing 2-way 21st century communication tools. ✅  Acting in solidarity with all unions. ✅  Supporting ALL members. ✅   Implementing developmentally appropriate K-3 curriculum/assessment.
This entry was posted in Common Core, Edreform and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

